Archive for December, 2010

WAFCA Winners!

December 6, 2010

The Washington Area Film Critics Association has named The Social Network as best picture of 2010 and David Fincher best director.

The Supporting Actor and Actress awards went to Christian Bale and Melissa Leo, respectively, for The Fighter. Leo triumphed in the category despite being nominated against her co-star Amy Adams.

The full list of nominees appears below, with winners in bold and my choices indicated by an asterisk. My own choice for the best film of the year, Mike Leigh’s Another Year, was nominated only for Best Original Screenplay — an odd category considering Leigh’s working methods (based on what I know of them, from what I’ve read over the years). I did vote for the film as a gesture of my enthusiasm for the final product.

I also voted for Black Swan in several technical categories, even though I tipped negative on the film overall. It didn’t matter: The film was shut out of our awards.

Best Film:
Black Swan
127 Hours
*The Social Network
Toy Story 3

Best Director:
Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan)
Danny Boyle (127 Hours)
Joel and Ethan Coen (True Grit)
*David Fincher (The Social Network)
Christopher Nolan (Inception)

Best Actor:
Jeff Bridges (True Grit)
*Robert Duvall (Get Low)
Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)
Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)
James Franco (127 Hours)

Best Actress:
Annette Bening (The Kids Are All Right)
Anne Hathaway (Love & Other Drugs)
Nicole Kidman (Rabbit Hole)
*Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone)
Natalie Portman (Black Swan)

Best Supporting Actor:
Christian Bale (The Fighter)
Andrew Garfield (The Social Network)
John Hawkes (Winter’s Bone)
*Sam Rockwell (Conviction)
Geoffrey Rush (The King’s Speech)

Best Supporting Actress:
Amy Adams (The Fighter)
Helena Bonham Carter (The King’s Speech)
*Melissa Leo (The Fighter)
Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit)
Jacki Weaver (Animal Kingdom)

Best Acting Ensemble:
*The Fighter
The Kids Are All Right
The Social Network
The Town

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Danny Boyle and Simon Beaufoy (127 Hours)
*Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)
Michael Arndt (Toy Story 3)
Joel and Ethan Coen (True Grit)
Debra Granik and Anne Rossellini (Winter’s Bone)

Best Original Screenplay:
*Mike Leigh (Another Year)
Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz and John McLaughlin (Black Swan)
Christopher Nolan (Inception)
Stuart Blumberg and Lisa Cholodenko (The Kids Are All Right)
David Seidler (The King’s Speech)

Best Animated Feature:
Despicable Me
*How to Train Your Dragon
Toy Story 3

Best Documentary:
Exit Through the Gift Shop
Inside Job
The Tillman Story
Waiting for ‘Superman’

Best Foreign Language Film:
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
I Am Love
White Material

Best Art Direction:
Alice in Wonderland
*Black Swan
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1
True Grit

Best Cinematography:
*Black Swan
127 Hours
The Social Network
True Grit

Best Score:
*Clint Mansell (Black Swan)
Hans Zimmer (Inception)
A.R. Rahman (127 Hours)
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (The Social Network)
Carter Burwell (True Grit)


WAFCA Voting: Which Films and Performances Are the Best of 2010?

December 3, 2010

This Sunday, the Washington Area Film Critics Association will announce the results of its votes for the best films and performances of 2010. Stay tuned for results!